Makita Handle Set for Ls1211 Miter Saw. part #182597-2

JermFace

Hi folks, total novice here, as evidenced by the fact that I broke my buddy's very good and basically unreplaceable old chop saw.  It fell and the handle/switch assembly got mashed.  Most of it looks like it can be easily reassembled, but the handle assembly got smashed.

I've been looking high and low for a replacement handle assembly and have not found one on ebay or on any of the many American online stores I've browsed.  I did find the part listed as available from an Australian online retailer, for NINETY BUCKS.

Anyone have any advice, or happen to have a spare handle set they'd sell, or know of a seller/reseller who'd likely have the thing in stock?

Is that price $90 Australian or $90 US. Exchange rate might make a difference. If the part has been discontinued, you are pretty much SOL, and the only option is pay the price or find someone who could 3d print a part, and still pay the price...

Wish I could be more encouraging, but I commend you for wanting to do the right thing and fix the issue. The only other possible option I can think of is to find a unit for sale for parts, or bite the bullet and pay for a replacement miter saw.

23 minutes ago, JermFace said:

Hey, thanks, y'all.  Good questions/suggestions.  And yep, that was one of the first sites I found, ChrisK.  Called 'em, too.  They referred me to Makita, and yatta yatta, you know the rest.

The struggle continues.

Sorry bro! I even went on eBay and kaputz! Gotsta go the extra for a New Englander ;)

6 minutes ago, SetBuilder said:

What is the part you need, where is the handle cracked?

The part he needs is the handle section in the center of the bottom picture. Single assembly that attaches to the front and top of the main housing.

These are pics of my personal unit.

57 minutes ago, SetBuilder said:

Post pics of the actual saw and part you need. There is an old makita bone yard at work, I'll take a look on Monday.