Any welders in the house???

WeldfabNeil

So who here is a welder??? What type of welding do you do???

Personally I am a welder/fabricator an every now an then a real basic machinist. Mainly I run stick or wire feed. I can do some tig but it's not my strong point. I work in the oil an gas industry, usually in the shop but occasional field work.

you nailed it, interprovincial Machinist for 19 yrs then went on to Fabrication engineer, then on to welding instructor until retirement.

certified in:

mig

tig

stainless

pipe/high pressure

aluminum

magnesium

stick

submerged arc

.1 .2 .3 .4  .5 .6 .F .G .R

SMAW E6010 root with E7018 filler cap and GTAW combo

stack of dimes baby all day long, any kind of metal....lol

• Like 1

I've reparied a stick welder, that they threw away at work. :D (HPU fabrication facility)

Tried some smaller welding projects in SS 316/316L steel, bolts, and 316 piping, that I could get hold of. Was not as easy as I had estimated, but I think I'm making progress. :P

Really want me a TIG though, becouse I need the higher precicion for my relatively smal projects, and thin sheets. The sheets warps like crazy. 

This weekend, I'm probably start on a frame for a combined ramp/"trolley", so I can get the computer into the van. Should be fun. 

that would most likely be 2030 stainless.....

as for the critiquing, it's a matter of standards. I have tested many welds pass and fails.... some times the look is only skin deep.....or should I say skin thin....

• Like 1

Whats the best method to weld aluminium?

Have to fix a leak, but I only got DC stick welder, so perhaps brazing or an special "alu-weld" brazing product could do the trick.

My brother got an Mig welder though, could they do the trick?

if you have never welded aluminium with any method you are better off just getting some aluminium brazing rod ...

everything you know about welding is different when it comes to welding aluminium......tricky stuff......

• Like 2