Engineer / Surveyor Tape Meassure

vaultman

In my non wood working life (as in my actual 40hr a week job) I am a land surveyor.

I am looking for a replacement for a Surveyor's tape (mfka an Engineer's Tape). These are in feet and decimal feet.
I would like one that is 33 feet long, 1/2 a chain for those in the know :)  . I have used the Lufkin tapes for a while, but was hoping there may be some others entering the market? Like Fat Max, or Milwaukee?? I doubt it but I thought I would ask...

Or anything besides the Lufkin?

That BMI 472 twoCOMP looks interesting, but doesn't look like it comes in tenths and inches. I never did find any with tenths, outside of a Stabila.

All my work tapes are Lufkins (and there's a pile of 'em!) of 12' or 25'. Just curious why you would want a 33'er? That's a big tape to try and get in and out of your vest 50 times a day....

I just replaced a tape I had put a crimp in (one of the old style without the rubber bumpers) with the new style that was tenths only. Kind of a bummer trying to measure the diameter of a tree and do the math converting tenths to inches in my head....

On 5/28/2016 at 4:19 PM, BK13 said:

That BMI 472 twoCOMP looks interesting, but doesn't look like it comes in tenths and inches. I never did find any with tenths, outside of a Stabila.

All my work tapes are Lufkins (and there's a pile of 'em!) of 12' or 25'. Just curious why you would want a 33'er? That's a big tape to try and get in and out of your vest 50 times a day....

I just replaced a tape I had put a crimp in (one of the old style without the rubber bumpers) with the new style that was tenths only. Kind of a bummer trying to measure the diameter of a tree and do the math converting tenths to inches in my head....

I cannot count how many times I have used it for things between 25' and 33'. A 33 is heavy, but when that is what you have always carried it is what you are used to.

What survey outfit in PDX do you work for? Just curious...