So what do you Guys know about spraying?

jackfinzo

I bought the apollo 3 HVLP sprayer on black Friday as it was at a great discount. It's something I always wanted to try out and teach myself. You know how it is when you see a good deal it's hard to leave it behind! Anyways I opened it about 3 weeks ago for the first time and sprayed a can of water just to try it out and see what it was like. So far so good. I make a fair amount of MDF units that get handpainted and the idea is to be able to spray them once I get the hang of it. Also, I have two small solid popular tables that I'd like to spray either cream or clear not sure which yet!

I think what I am trying to say is if I was to go to the paint shop tomorrow to get whatever I would need from start to finish in order to, 1. Spray an MDF unit cream. 2. spray the popular table clear or something along those lines?

Please spell it out as clearly as you can as I have no experience with spraying!

Thanks a mill, Jack.

• Like 1

@jackfinzo always, I repeat always clean out your sprayer. Never leave your sprayer dirty. That's the biggest thing to remember when spraying and arguably the most important. If you don't remember anything I tell you make sure to remember to clean out the sprayer. A dirty sprayer doesn't spray as well or even doesn't spray at all. The way I was told to clean em at school was with mineral spirits. Just spray some through the gun and also wipe the gun off as well. If the build up gets too much you may have to run it through a special gun cleaner. Another thing to watch out for is runs. If you get runs you may need to brush em out. You'll also wanna make sure and remove all the air in the container holding the finish or paint before spraying. This is also a good test to ensure the gun has a good vacuum seal to spray the finish. I hope this helps.

• Like 1

Yep, cleaning is soo important.