Tool Tracker (Excel)

fm2176

Does anyone use one?  I'm not talking about a locator such as the Tick, but rather a spreadsheet or other method of tracking tool inventories, serial numbers, and status.  I started one today out of sheer boredom, and currently have an Excel workbook with worksheets for each of my cordless tool systems by manufacturer (DeWalt, Milwaukee, Porter Cable, Hitachi, and Kobalt).  On it I've listed Model, Description, Voltage, Quantity, Serial Number, Date/Place Purchased, and Comments (any suggestions for other info?).  This allows me to filter by any of those parameters and should allow me to keep a tally of what I have in case of loss or theft.  After having my house burglarized a few years ago, I don't think it will hurt to keep this information handy, and building it provided a nice break from statistics earlier in the day. 

While I am currently a hobbyist/DIY'er at best for now--unless you count various projects that pop up at work--I could see where such a tracker would come in handy for a business that has multiple cordless platforms or a large number of tools.  Anyway, I've attached a screenshot.  Any suggestions?

Workbook.jpg

• Like 2

I use quick base at work to track equipment and different Motorola radios and what not. I have a few Excel spreadsheets of the 12k in shit I got stolen a while ago, better to do that before rather than after your stuff gets stolen. Keep it with digital copies of your receipts.

• Like 1

I haven't even touched this tracker since last Sunday, but I think I'll add a couple of columns: price paid and date code.  The date code may prove useful for stuff like batteries that lack serial numbers, while the price paid will allow me to use a formula to track the total amount I have invested. 

• 3 weeks later...

I keep my tools organised in the Milwaukee app, been inputting my tools on here for over a year now. 

But I think yours is even more in-depth with how you can list by certain parameters ?