DHR243RTJ / XRH01Z rotary hammer gearbox noise

stefan_trethan

Hi everyone, 

So I just got this DHR243RTJ hammer (XRH01Z in the US I believe).

Right out of the box it was quite loud in drill-only mode at full RPM, you know that classic whining gear noise you get when you force gears together too tightly without any play.

Of course I started to investigate and found if I back off the four gearbox screws just slightly (half a turn) the noise is much reduced. I also noticed it is much easier to turn the machine over by hand with the screws backed off. To make sure I am not imagining this I measured the current draw from the battery (now you know I am not a mechanical engineer ;-)) and it was reduced to about 6 amps with the screws loose, compared to 10 amps with the screws tight (these are full RPM no load drill only numbers).

I would send the drill back and get the Bosch, but I also bought two Makita garden tools at the same time (which are OK) and I need the batteries / charger.

The drill does work - I drilled two holes in concrete and it did fine, but it can hardly be good that it is binding like that in the gearbox?

What would you do? 

I could exchange the machine on warranty and get a different one - that might or might not have the same design flaw.

I could return the hammer drill and buy a separate battery / charger combo, and get a Bosch hammer instead.

Or I could just leave it be and ignore the problem, but the binding may cause premature wear and certainly has a negative impact on battery life.

Last option is I could fix it - find where it binds and/or shim the gearbox. I really do not want to do that since I specifically went and bought the best tool I could find, no matter the cost, so I would _not_ have to work on it right out of the box.

Let me know if you have that hammer, if you notice the same issue, and your suggestions what I should do.