DCF887B or DCD791D2 for irwin speedbor

natbea09

I have both of the above named drills.  With my 1/4 impacting drill the irwin speedbor drill bits fit right in and lock in.  My 1/2 drill I have to close the chuck and the shank but looks alright.  My question is my 1/4 drill really powerful enough to run these wood boring bits that go all the way up to 1 - 1/4in hole sizes without being to hard on it? Or should i just use my 1/2 drill? As you can see im very new with power tools.  Thanks for your help!

IRWIN SPEEDBOR Max Speed Auger Wood Drill Bit Set, 6-Piece, 3041006 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000LQ905E/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_6j9FzbP918V8S

• Like 1

Both will complete the task. I use my drill(791) to um... drill holes(strange, I know right) and my impact driver(887) to drive screws. Both tools can be used for similar purposes, like having a car and truck, sure you can pull a small trailer with a car but the truck does it better, you can take the truck on a road trip but the car is more comfortable.  

PS. Just a heads up don't call the 887 a drill, its an impact driver or impact for short, calling it a drill will make it feel it is unloved and think that you don't care...  

• Like 1

8 hours ago, natbea09 said:

I have both of the above named drills.  With my 1/4 impacting drill the irwin speedbor drill bits fit right in and lock in.  My 1/2 drill I have to close the chuck and the shank but looks alright.  My question is my 1/4 drill really powerful enough to run these wood boring bits that go all the way up to 1 - 1/4in hole sizes without being to hard on it? Or should i just use my 1/2 drill? As you can see im very new with power tools.  Thanks for your help!

IRWIN SPEEDBOR Max Speed Auger Wood Drill Bit Set, 6-Piece, 3041006 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000LQ905E/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_6j9FzbP918V8S