Metabo TWIN 18V sds drill - 7AH BATTS - KHA 36-18 LTX 32 - oztooltalk review

dwain

That vid popped up in my YouTube feed, top job, well presented. 

As for the drill, seems like a good machine from the specs and the info from yourselves. 3.1 joules is plenty for that weight machine, shouldn't see too many busted chisel tips at that rating. 

Looking forward to your shootout! 

• Like 1

7 hours ago, Tug said:

As a rule of thumb I'd say 3.5 is the limit for sds plus, but I'm no scientist. Ideally it'd be great to get AvE to take a look at this, he has a great channel on YouTube. 

My Milwaukee at 4.1 chews up chisel bits ease.

Hmm very interesting. I wonder if BPM plays no part at all? I guess Joules/hit would be far more important.

I guess bpm does play a part, the shaft of every drill bit or chisel tip is only going to be able to absorb so many impacts before failure. The impact energy will definitely be the overriding cause of failure, particularly with the wider flat chisel tips, their larger surface area will offer up more resistance to each blow, this will all have to be absorbed by the shaft. 

Any metallurgists out there care to comment? 

• Like 1

3 hours ago, Tug said:

I guess bpm does play a part, the shaft of every drill bit or chisel tip is only going to be able to absorb so many impacts before failure. The impact energy will definitely be the overriding cause of failure, particularly with the wider flat chisel tips, their larger surface area will offer up more resistance to each blow, this will all have to be absorbed by the shaft. 

I suppose so, but the tip (having the least surface area to distribute the force), will be most prone to failure, as you have already noted.

Just now, D W said:

@dwain did you test the new "ultra" charger with that kit? I'm curious to see how much faster it is. The cheapest I've seen it is $199 AUD.