Résumé Advice Needed

Stercorarius

Got a call from a different company. Told me they were interested in sitting down with me to see about working there. I'm all to eager to leave my current company. They told me to send over an updated resume and then they will set up a time. I've never had to do a resume before. Any templates you guys prefer? For the employers on here, what do you like to see? There are literally thousands of articles about what employers say they like to see, but I'm interested in a more blue collar perspective. 

New job is for a hay equipment tech. Basically what I do now but it wouldn't be minimum wage, have benefits, overtime, legitimate service truck, and from the guys I've talked to that work for them significantly less bullshit.

• Like 2

I'm not very good with resumes, I hate mine...but I just wanted to say, they probably just want something that isn't in crayon with a bunch of misspelled words. They're already wanting to talk to you, that's more than half the battle.

I'd go short and sweet, bullet points (skills, experience) and background info, no fluff ("I'm good at working with others" or "I work well with little direction"). Save that for the meeting, maybe mention it as a descriptor in your experience (describe "I was a member of a team which blah blah"). Again, I'm not the best with resumes but just my thoughts.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Resumes...

I haven't had to seriously start one (yet), but there seems to be a few common themes every time I research this.  For one, orient the resume towards what your potential hirer wants to see.  In your case, emphasize your ability and experience in repairing various types of machinery and equipment.  Avoid using acronyms (if your current industry uses them) and make your resume easily readable by any employer.  Focus more on what you can offer than what you have done in the past (but don't completely omit your accomplishments).