First Saw, Circular or Table?

Zinfandel

I am a newbie in the whole tool/construction thing, while i have worked for others briefly in construction i am by no means an expert, but i am mechanically inclined which is, well enough to figure out stuff.

I recently finished replacing a 20 ft section of my yard fence. Used a circular saw to do all the cutting needed, the saw wasn't mine, and now that it's gone i kind of feel i need one.

Money is not an issue this time, i am starting to conduct a little bit of a professional handyman practice which led me to look at two saws, because it's going to be a main first saw, i need it to be cordless.

I am already invested on DeWalt's platform so.

Dewalt Flexvolt Circular Saw.

Dewalt Flexvolt Table Saw.

The Circular saw is hands down the most portable, but i don't find the flexvolt table saw terrible to move and well, easier to operate, so money not being a restriction, is there ANYTHING one can do that the other can't and viceversa?

Am i crazy for considering a table saw as my first main saw, even saw if i decide to take it to a fence construction project?

Thank you!

• Like 1

You'll have an easier time cutting fence posts with a circular saw over the table saw. Between the two I'd say get the circular saw because anything you can do with the table saw you can do with the circular saw, but you can't take the table saw up a ladder to cut something that's already in place. If you need to rip a sheet of something the circular saw would be the better candidate as well.

I personally wouldn't buy a table saw with fence construction in mind, I'd actually be looking at two circular saws; a 7-1/4" and a 10"+ model for dealing with posts quickly.

• Like 1

9 minutes ago, jtkendall said: