What's a tool that you will never replace it with its modern counterpart?

TheWorkshopBlog

Hello, I'm doing a blog about differences in modern tooling and their vintage counterparts and why people would rather use them than the modern equivalents. The reverse also applies, if you have a modern tool that you would never replace with an older model what would that tool be and what type of use do you preform with the tool?

Background: I'm a college student and for a class I decided to do a project about hand tools. One of my requirements for this project is to do a digital campaign, which I have chosen to do my campaign on tooling. I have a passion for learning about tools and what the differences that go through each iteration of their new life cycle as they are "improved".

• Like 3

A third option is keeping your older tools ,like ratchets and upgrading them with new parts...SK does this a lot. They just recently came out with new ratchets,but you can buy just the gear assembly and install it in your old SK ratchet....

Cordless tools are almost always better new, first gen 1 then wait for gen 3...generally gen 2 will be marginally better.

Shop tools are generally more reliable from older models, they won’t have the bells and whistles but usually work well...you can’t beat an older Wilton vise. 

Some of the best hand tools are still the older styles.....

• 3 weeks later...