What is status of DeWalt 40 volt Max batteries for my outdoor tools?

Izon

Hi all, newbie here.  After much deliberation a couple years ago, I got rid of my gas trimmer and leaf blower. I wanted to be done with the

hassle them. So decided to go with the "best" and got the DeWalt 40 volt Max versions of trimmer and blower. Overall I've been very 

happy with them and especially impressed with the power and life using my trimmer. Now I'm thinking of adding a spare battery to the

two I have but having difficulty finding the 40 volt versions. Seems they've gone to just the 20volt and the 20 / 60 flex battery.

The couple I've found available want a premium of nearly $200. I paid not much more for the entire tool, battery, charger in the first place.

Are they discontinuing these and if so that really BURNS me.  Their stuff is not cheap and I was confident with this brand I would be making

a very good choice for near and long term. If they are doing this, they are killing maybe thousands of good working tools that are all over

the country. They could at least have made the 20/60 a battery that would include the 40 volt step and have a 20/40/60 option.

Anyone dealing with this and know of what if anything can be done to replace my 40 volt batteries at a reasonable price?

Thanks!

Honestly, I'd consider flipping them while they're still considered current. You can get them on eBay for a reasonable price (not cheap)...but it's probably smart to move into 60V or a different like like Milwaukee, Kobalt or Ego. I'm a Milwaukee guy but I recommend Ego. It's entirely understandable if you want to get out of the Dewalt line completely, that's one reason why I'd never trust the Tonka brand.

• 3 weeks later...
Hi all, newbie here.  After much deliberation a couple years ago, I got rid of my gas trimmer and leaf blower. I wanted to be done with the