Sign in to follow this  
Mike55

DW744

Hello, first posting here. I've been getting into woodworking lately and finally got my first power saw. It's a dw744 pictured. I really wanted to get a guard on this thing because i'm still an amateur lol. Once I started searching I noticed there was a product recall on the DW744. What I dont understand is why this version doesn't have a serial number, I'm worried it needs to have the recall work done and the prior owner didn't do it. I bought this used, is there no serial because its older? Also, can anyone give me any insight on how to get a guard for this model. Thanks!

IMG_0407.JPG

IMG_0405.JPG

5 hours ago, Mike55 said:

Hello, first posting here. I've been getting into woodworking lately and finally got my first power saw. It's a dw744 pictured. I really wanted to get a guard on this thing because i'm still an amateur lol. Once I started searching I noticed there was a product recall on the DW744. What I dont understand is why this version doesn't have a serial number, I'm worried it needs to have the recall work done and the prior owner didn't do it. I bought this used, is there no serial because its older? Also, can anyone give me any insight on how to get a guard for this model. Thanks!

Is the serial number elsewhere on the saw? Maybe on the top? Looks like there is more information near the top of the saw.

Hey there thanks for the response, I scoured that thing and I don't see a serial anywhere, its possible its on the underside. I'll check and let you know

Okay I checked again no serial anywhere else, just a sticker on the motor that says "SER 03193". Doesnt seem to be in the same format, really just want to know if this was part of the recall.

@ ChrisK, thanks I did find that piece 608668-00 on toolspareparts.com. It's an AU site apparently. Hopefully that is the guard that works for this saw...

• Like 1