DW744

Mike55

Hello, first posting here. I've been getting into woodworking lately and finally got my first power saw. It's a dw744 pictured. I really wanted to get a guard on this thing because i'm still an amateur lol. Once I started searching I noticed there was a product recall on the DW744. What I dont understand is why this version doesn't have a serial number, I'm worried it needs to have the recall work done and the prior owner didn't do it. I bought this used, is there no serial because its older? Also, can anyone give me any insight on how to get a guard for this model. Thanks!

IMG_0407.JPG

IMG_0405.JPG

5 hours ago, Mike55 said:

Hello, first posting here. I've been getting into woodworking lately and finally got my first power saw. It's a dw744 pictured. I really wanted to get a guard on this thing because i'm still an amateur lol. Once I started searching I noticed there was a product recall on the DW744. What I dont understand is why this version doesn't have a serial number, I'm worried it needs to have the recall work done and the prior owner didn't do it. I bought this used, is there no serial because its older? Also, can anyone give me any insight on how to get a guard for this model. Thanks!

Is the serial number elsewhere on the saw? Maybe on the top? Looks like there is more information near the top of the saw.

Okay I checked again no serial anywhere else, just a sticker on the motor that says "SER 03193". Doesnt seem to be in the same format, really just want to know if this was part of the recall.

@ ChrisK, thanks I did find that piece 608668-00 on toolspareparts.com. It's an AU site apparently. Hopefully that is the guard that works for this saw...

• Like 1