Found By Accident

jlrice54

I just ran across this forum while researching a strange tool that I have owned for a couple of decades.  I'm a semi-retired IT consultant for the past 20 years and a retired (30 year first career) industrial electrician and electrical, instrumentation and control contractor. I also will admit I have a tool problem - I never met a tool I didn't want to own and got my first tool box at age 6, so I've been at  it a long time.  I recently finished a 4 year stent at the local community college completing an AAS in both collision repair and refinishing and welding and fabrication technology.  While in the welding program I picked up 3 AWS certifications.  I have a home machine shop which ties in with all the other hobbies: auto restoration and customizing, welding and fabrication, 3D printing and teaching myself to become a better machinist. 

I'm currently trying to clean out my shop building and get everything organized.  After 9 years of neglect, it's a larger project than I realized.  But like the elephant, it's one bite at at time.  Or one square foot at a time in this case.  

How do you organize your shop? Right now I have some Tough System boxes on some wall racks and a few Systainers to organize most of my handheld power tools and hand tools. Everything else is in a couple drawers, hanging on the wall, or on some shelves organized as best I could. It's not much but at least stuff has a place and is easy to find. I try to keep similar items together. Grinding wheels with grinder, bits with drill/impact, batteries with batteries, etc.

5 hours ago, Jronman said: