I'm designing a cordless belt sander and need your advice!

conoride

Hi!

I'm an industrial design student and this semester we are designing a cordless belt sander for one of the biggest tool manufacturers in the world (can't say who). I've been doing alot of research on belt sanders but I need input from people who actually use them!

Why have the big brands like Makita, Dewalt etc. not released cordless belt sanders yet? I know battery capacity is an issue.

What features would you like to see on a cordless beltsander that the current offerings on the market (Ryobi and Rigid) don't have?

Attaching a shopvac to a cordless beltsander seems a bit contradictory so can the dust bag be improved?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Hi!
I'm an industrial design student and this semester we are designing a cordless belt sander for one of the biggest tool manufacturers in the world (can't say who). I've been doing alot of research on belt sanders but I need input from people who actually use them!

Why have the big brands like Makita, Dewalt etc. not released cordless belt sanders yet? I know battery capacity is an issue.
What features would you like to see on a cordless beltsander that the current offerings on the market (Ryobi and Rigid) don't have?
Attaching a shopvac to a cordless beltsander seems a bit contradictory so can the dust bag be improved?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Dust collection not contradictory at all.

I often use one of my cordless sanders while hooked up to my cordless dust collector. I think it is even more necessary with a belt sander which produces more sawdust.

You working on a full size sander or a small one like the Makita?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

@conoride Quality is a must. I don't want stuff breaking or the belt falling off mid sand. I would probably prefer brushless motor over brushed.