Makita DTD154 impact drill

Ick

My first tool and it's a Makita. I also bought 2 other tools, cordless grinder and drill.  Yeah!  I'm a newbie and learning house building. Thank you in advance. 

1. Do I have to charge the 18v battery at least 12hrs before initial use?

2.  Why is there a scratch on the model plate?  See pic.  I called dealer and she said it came from manufacturer.  Some said it's probably a show model and some said it's a refurbished. 

3.  I was recommended to go with a 1/2 impact drill just in case I work on changing my car tires.  But would I need to convert down to 1/4 to use thr bits I have around the house?  Also, would 1/4 be enough for taking tires off my seden and Toyota Tacoma?

20200709_235959.jpg

Hello and nice to have you on the forum.  Always nice having people who want to learn the trades and about tools.

1. . Do I have to charge the 18v battery at least 12hrs before initial use? - No, if you have a battery that is low, it will take about an hour to charge depending upon the amp. No need to charge that far in advance.  Now it's always good practice to put your batteries on the charger over night if you have been using them all day so they are ready for the next day and your not waiting around, but that isn't required.
  2. Why is there a scratch on the model plate?  See pic.  I called dealer and she said it came from manufacturer.  Some said it's probably a show model and some said it's a refurbished. I am not sure where you bought it from but my guess is it's a refurb model.  I haven't seen a new tool have that issue.  But again, anything can happen.  But I think it is a refurb model.  Hopefully the company you bought it from wasn't advertising it as a new model.