Is the new DeWalt 20V Li-ion battery interchangeable with B&D yard tools?

jimmyz

Hello Everyone,

I have been searching for an answer to the subject question without success.  I am planning to upgrdae my old 12V DeWalt to the new 20V Li-ion.  I am also interested in the new Black and Decker 20V yard tools such as the LPP120 pole chain saw and LST220 line trimmer.  Does anyone know for sure if the new batteries from DeWalt and Black and Decker will interchange physically.  They look very similar but is there any intentional non-interchangeable physical differences preventing use between the product families?  I have found only limited product in stores and haven't been able to verify.

Thanks in advance  :)

I have no official knowledge on this subject, so keep that in mind when reading this.

I would NEVER put a DeWALT lithium battery in ANY other tool.  The 20v MAX battery has virtually NO electronics in it, so the chances of it being damaged by being used in a tool that was not designed for is very high.  In my mind there is absolutely no point in ruining a valuable battery, that is worth about as much as the string trimmer, when you can buy another B&D battery for $30-$50.  I do not imagine that this would go well.  That's just my 2 cents though.

Hello Everyone,

I have been searching for an answer to the subject question without success.  I am planning to upgrdae my old 12V DeWalt to the new 20V Li-ion.  I am also interested in the new Black and Decker 20V yard tools such as the LPP120 pole chain saw and LST220 line trimmer.  Does anyone know for sure if the new batteries from DeWalt and Black and Decker will interchange physically.  They look very similar but is there any intentional non-interchangeable physical differences preventing use between the product families?  I have found only limited product in stores and haven't been able to verify.

Thanks in advance  :)

NOT EVEN CLOSE.

DCB201vsLB20_1.JPG

DCB201vsLB20_2.JPG

DCB201vsLB20_3.JPG