Hilti cordless tools

JGuz

Looking at a new impact driver set. it has become my favorite tool, the one I now use the most and whit impact ready drill bits and spade bits, I use it more than ever. Was looking at the Hilti SID 18V LI-Ion impact driver. How does this tool compare with the newer brushless milwaukee,dewalt,makita,bosch,etc? It is 350-400 dollars, is it worth it. I am a commercial property manager/GC, so it is a tool I use often. Any comments would be appreciated

Hilti makes great stuff TIA has reviewed a bunch of their tools and never have anything negative to say about Hitli. The only thing is you might want to make sure you have a Hilti service center close by just in-case any thing does go wrong.

• 1 year later...

I've been using a Hilti 14.4V impact driver for the last six years or so and it hasn't let me down once. The original batteries are still working like new. I've used it for most of my drilling plus fastening over the years and it's been more of a go-to tool than I ever imagined it would be. Just lately the chuck is starting to wobble a little, so I'm in the market for something new and may get another Hilti. 

I just switched from the Milwaukee fuel M18 Impact to the Hilti SID18a. It is a dramatic difference.

Firstly, the Milwaukee is a good impact. My only complaints are the loose forward/reverse switch and the screechy sound of the motor. The weight and balance are pretty good too.

The Hilti is in a whole other class. The grip is way more comfortable and has better ergonomics. The tool has a much smoother sounding motor, quieter and no screech.

Milwaukee claims to have slightly more torque, but the Hilti is definitely the beast of the two. Marketing BS aside, the Milwaukee is very torquey. The 4 lights on the Hilti are around the chuck and don't produce any shadows like the Milwaukee.