My two absolute best tape measures

hemdale

• 3 weeks later...

Wow,thanks for sharing that. Amazing.  Its not hard to do the math for going from metric to english. Being able to use a diameter scale on it sold it for me,its very much like using a Pi tape.

We often get prints for things in metric.

• Like 1

Absolutely perfect in any and every situations !

Except for that funny unit of measure, LOL.

I dig the stainless Vogel, unfortunately, I need a tape with Imperial engineers units, like feet/tenths/hundreths. Pretty niche market.

• 3 years later...

Just my 2C

I have been using a Lufkin 25 foot 3/4" tape for the last 30 years. The first thing I did was unwind a few time to take the pressure of the tape. The tape has always closed quickly but the last foot is without much power. I figure 30 years for a tape measure is a good deal.

https://mechanicfaq.com/tape-measures-for-woodworkers/"  . I have only had that one for 25 years. Did the same release of tension when I first got the tape. It is a cheap tape without a lock, black plastic case that has a hole broken in one of the corners. But the tape still works without and hangs and is easy enough to read.

My wife decided I needed a new tape a few years ago. She got me a Craftsman 30 foot 1". The tape works okay. I don't care for the action, it is larger in the hand than I like but sometimes it's the tape I see in my shop when I want to measure something so I use it.

I know some people will wrap tape at the tip so there is a "shock absorber" when the tape retracts.

The new Milwaukee tapes are super functional and the coating they used has kept mine in great shape. Only thing I dislike about it for framing is the rounded face that has their name etched into it; won’t take my tape pad (an old timer favorite)! 

The 2 for 25 is still on at HD I believe