milwaukee m12 or m18

brian522

The M12 Fuel tools are quite nice. I suppose strong enough depends heavily on the question "strong enough for what?"  The rotary tool is stronger than any cordless Dremel I've used and I've built decks and driven 5" lag screws with my M12, so there's plenty of power for that sort of task. What do you plan to use that tools for?  Don't get me wrong, I love my M18s, but they're a lot larger and heavier than their M12 counterparts. 

• Like 1

For homeowner, m12 is strong enough. Though I have no experience with the m12 Impacts, the drills, saws and lights are great. At some point you'll probably want m18, drilling through concrete...or a full sized sawzall for the stroke length. It's honestly hard for me to pick one because the m18s are big but there is a limit for the m12s as rare as it is to hit that limit(as just a homeowner).

I couldn't go back to not having my m12 Hackzalls and rotary tool.

• Like 1

If your a homeowner or a DIY type that is serious about taking care of your home, I would go with the 18v lineup. That will cover both small and big jobs. If your looking for a pro tool line up then you could go either way depending on what you are doing. Also, welcome to the forum.

• Like 2

there is a little more to it than just picking between M12 and M18, there are a few different options in both flavors. M12 brushed or M12 Fuel line and the same with M18 having even one more option brushed/brushless/fuel

depending on your budget and what you plan on doing with these tools.

battery packs are generally smaller for M12 compared to M18 however these options also come with a cost. If you are just a home owner both line ups will do just fine. some tools are limited to just m12 or m18 and along with that same goes with brushed and brushless. I have both of most common tools and am happy with both depending on it's abilities or my needs.....

btw welcome to the forum...... 

• Like 1