FlexVolt 12" or Kapex 120?

marsh942

Guys! I'm looking at a larger SCMS to compliment my little 7 1/2" Makita 2x18V! 

Here in Australia the Kapex commands a $1975 price tag or $2795 if you include the stand - the DHS780 (when it releases later this month) will be $1650 and that includes the corded adaptor, 2 54v 2.0ah batteries and a charger. Which would you reckon would be the best investment? I am a carpenter + joiner by trade, have recently started working doing cabinet making in a factory and do bits + pieces at weekends when I can (decking/fences) and am

Potentially looking to start custom furniture if I can ( as a hobby at first and see where it goes). To me the kapex is the king of mitre saws BUT the design is a little old and so is the motor, blades are expensive and the warranty isn't that long here. The FlexVolt stuff has had mixed reviews in general but the 12" mitre seems to be excellent? Downsides are that it is pretty heavy for transportations sake and the dust collection looks pretty poor! I'd love to get myself the Rotex 150, CT26 extractor, Domino XL and potentially the HKC55 but to add that all up on top of a Kapex would be around $9k AUD! Would love some input! 

I would never pay the price for the Kapex. It's like buying a brand new 2009 Mercedes in 2017. Is it nice? Yes. You can get newer updated stuff for less though.

I have the FlexVolt sliding mitre and wholeheartedly recommend it. It's versatile, powerful and bang-on accurate. Not sure what you mean about mixed reviews on FlexVolt stuff, unless you mean everything is being well-received except the recip and lack of hook on the circ saw lol. 

• Like 4

Honestly I think this is a crazy question, Dewalt is where the smart money is here. With Dewalt you get more benefits for less money. The only thing Kapex brings to the table is a touch better build quality. It's like comparing a Corvette to a Maserati, smart money is Corvette.

• Like 5