Track Saws

BK13

I'm starting to think I might "need" a track saw down the road. Undecided on brand as of this moment, though if I were to buy 'right his very second' the Makita is in the lead. My general question is this: manufacturers are beginning to release cordless track saws... Given that 90%+ of the time it's gonna be used with dust collection, what's the appeal? You already are dragging around a hose... and on the Festool, the power cable is already a part of the dust collection hose anyway, right? (home use, I'm NOT a pro contractor)

Also, any current or past users, how do you like what you have, and any tips and tricks to share?

1 hour ago, BK13 said:

I'm starting to think I might "need" a track saw down the road. Undecided on brand as of this moment, though if I were to buy 'right his very second' the Makita is in the lead. My general question is this: manufacturers are beginning to release cordless track saws... Given that 90%+ of the time it's gonna be used with dust collection, what's the appeal? You already are dragging around a hose... and on the Festool, the power cable is already a part of the dust collection hose anyway, right? (home use, I'm NOT a pro contractor)

Also, any current or past users, how do you like what you have, and any tips and tricks to share?

The hose and cord are separate but they do have a sleeved version with both in it (I've got one). As far as cordless, I've got the cornered TS55REQ and the new HKC55 which has a cross cut sled and can run on a track or as a regular skill saw. If your using it in the shop, the benefit is always breaking down sheet goods in a safe and accurate fashion with dust collection. Naturally I'm a Festool guy but o wouldn't think two about getting the Makita, it is awesome. The new Dewalt 

looks pretty sweet too.

• Like 1