Milwaukee Lithium Ion Battery Maintence

Firefighter1406

I am new to Milwaukee, I am switching over from DeWalt. Is there a recommended way to store the lithium ion batteries?  I have 3 XC 5ah batteries currently. I always bring the batteries in during cold weather. But should I store them fully charged?, 2 or 3 bars?  Any help would be appreciated. 

With lithium, any lithium, it's best to store it at just under half charge... but what I recommend is charging them up to 100%. You're going to get a lot more life out of lithium than the previous NiCad batteries, we're talking years worth of usage not months. The savings you'd get by storing them in their ideal charge state is going to be less than your aggravated state when you go to use them and they're dead halfway through a job.

You don't have to charge lithium batteries right away. However when i get new rechargeable batteries i consider it maintenance. Ideally you want to keep them around the 50% mark like BMack said. If you don't use them every few months, refresh the charge. If it gets cold in your garage or shed bring them inside. Things you should avoid at all cost is heat with lithium-ion. Make sure you don't use off brand charger or over charge your batteries. Make sure your tools aren't left in the sunlight. An example of what can happen is old Samsung cellphones.

In the past when new lithium ion cells were manufactured for cellphones and laptops they were transported on planes. People didn't realize these new batteries needed to stabilize chemically before being transported.  A little common sense is all

The “half-charge” rule is most important for batteries that are going to sit idle for weeks or months. If you know you’re going to use them in a couple days it’s less of a big deal. The extremes are the “least happy” states for lithium batteries to be stuck at long-term.