Thoughts on the new 40V Max system?

ChristopherRTO

Would have been nice if Makita released the same size of 40V batteries as high Ah on 18v platform and there is no excuse now for them to do it now as I have been asking since 2017 (see my opening post about 21700).

Do not see the use of 40V impact driver and combi driver. as for the rest the 18v tools will be much better use with a HD Batteries if Makita ever release some but I no longer hold my breath about.

In my personal circumstances I am OK with 3-5Ah changing few of them throughout the day.

I would get some 21700 or other high powered batteries if released and beneficiary for the current 18v TXT range  but will not change any of my 18v tools just for the sake of 40v .

• Like 1

I have had every Makita 40v tool available here for 2 months now and the best improvements from the previous 18v and 36v models are the 5" angle grinder which has heaps more grunt. And the hammer drill / combi drill which has more grunt and an electronic clutch system which gives the tool a lot more functionality.

I have done reviews of 6 40v tools on my YT channel.

• Like 1

Entirely correct that these are basically just 36V nominal tools marketed as 40V Max to keep them fully differentiated from the older 36V models. I have seen it stated in a couple places that indeed there will be an adapter to let you use a pair of LXT batteries on XGT tools, effectively making them work the same as LXT X2. I don’t know how ahead they planned on that to ensure that said adapter will fit ALL XGT tools, however.

For the most part it appears Makita wants this to look like a serious upgrade having made improvements over almost all the tools as opposed to merely recycling X2 gear. Per Tools And Stuff’s videos above, it does seem some tools are a more substantial upgrade vs their LXT counterparts than others.