Makita Plunge Saw Power Issues, Again

Claybird

Hi All, 

I'm new to the forum, but have referenced it, quite a bit. I'm a Production Designer based in Brooklyn, NY and have spent years working on Builds through some wonderful Set Shops. I also, am "Restoring" an old family raised Cape down at the Jersey Shore built in 1892... prettttty much alone. (end intro)

I purchased the Makita plunge saw back in June of 2019, through Amazon. The first day I began to use it, the saw began intermittently losing power while cutting. it was some 5/4 I was splitting for a porch frame, and some 3/4 Birch, so nothing that would put any strain on this thing.

I spoke with a Makita rep, that day, who was dumbfounded and we decided it would be best to have it replaced (through Amazon) and I did. 
I don't use the saw often, maybe a day a month,  if that, but I just brought it out today, to make about 4 small cuts, then crosscut some 3/4"... the same issue, of the saw powering down, mid cut is happening. Actually, 3 times on the cross cut, and I'm incredibly disheartened and frustrated. It's pretty damn dangerous, as well. 

I can describe it as, running, trigger fully pressed, it will act as if I let go of the power switch momentarily, and power will ramp down, blade stop spinning. I keep my finger pressed and once the saw motor power ramps down, it will start up again as if I just pressed the button in, but it's completely disrupting cuts and again, quite dangerous. I have the speed on 6, and this is the 2nd saw that has done this, out of two.