Professional Development

fm2176

I'm sure that many of us are in careers where self-development is strongly encouraged, if not required.  For example, the Army uses the attached image to summarize its leadership developmental model.  Training, education, and experience are all equally important for continued advancement.  When I was a mechanic, I was fortunate enough to "know somebody" to get an entry-level job as a mechanic's helper at Great Dane Traliers, moving to the Cadillac dealership as an Apprentice Tech within six months.  They sent me to the regional GM Technical College campus and a local community college to receive courses on basic automotive diagnostics and repair, and when I later worked for the forklift dealership, we attended in-house training on Crown and other equipment, to include certification as an aerial work platform inspector for various types of lifts.  Of course, the trades have their various licenses and certifications, and a lot of people would rather hire that highly experienced, fully licensed and insured, and articulate electrician or plumber rather than the "shade tree" sort next door.  Of course, a lot of the TIA Crew probably either does their own work or knows someone in the trades that is willing to make a little extra cash.