What would be the best tool to use?

cartpauj

I'm a Power Tool newbie for sure...if this post doesn't prove it  ;D!

QUESTION:

my wife wants us to do a "project together"...ya we all know how that's gonna all play out! She wants to make one of those circular clocks.  So I went to Home Depot to look for parts and I found what I need but I'm not sure what tool would work best to make a cutout on the back of the clock for the plastic clock housing?

Any help is much appreciated thanks!

hi,

Do you have a wooden fixture that needs a round hole cut in it so the clock can fit inside the hole? 

How thick is the wood that needs to be cut and what kind of wood is it or do you know?

How large of hole do you have to cut (diameter)?

Does the cut have to be precise or does the clock have a 1" lip that would fit over the face of the hole to cover up any inaccuracies with the cut?

Or do you have a round piece of wood that you're putting a non-round clock (i.e. square, triangular, etc) inside of?

And do you need a tool that's just good enough for this job and maybe a little more use at home or do you want a pro grade tool that's more accurate and meant for long lasting commercial use or something in between?

If you're needing to cut a round hole into wood, a hole saw would be your best option.  You can find inexpensive hole saws up to 5" diameter for less than $20.  If you're cutting wood and have to make a hole larger than 5", then you may want to consider a circle cutter.  You can find inexpensive circle cutters up to 8" diameter for under $20.  You can also find an inexpensive circle cutter attachment from Dremel that will cut holes up to 12" diameter.  Check out eBay auction 200322051077 that has a Dremel circle cutter attachment for $13.99 delivered.  You'll need a Dremel tool to make this work, but Dremel tools come in handy for all kinds of things around the house (at least they do for me).