DeWatlt 18V 1.1Ah vs Makita 9.6 1.3Ah battery comparison

roadhog96

I finally tried my new DCD760. Thought I'd try driving some wood screws seeing how I have a lot of them to do this spring. After trying it out I decided to compare it to the Makita I have been using for the last several years. It's a Makita 9.6V drill/driver that uses 1.3 Ah Nicd batteries.

I ran a #10 3 1/2" screw into a pressure treated 4x4 without any predrilling. I did this several times using each drill/driver on the low rpm High Torque setting. They both had no trouble doing it but the Makita gave me the feeling it had more umph. I could feel the Torque and the whine of the gearing like it had more low end power. You know the sound I'm talking about, slow, high pitch sound of a high torque drill.

The DeWalt ran it in quietly. Didn't feel anyway near the same, kind of hard to describe. No motor or gear whining, didn't feel like it would twist my arm off. Maybe the Makita has lower gearing.

Does the DCD760 even have a true low gear reduction transmission or is the switch used to limit the rpm to no more than 500.

Maybe someone could explain how the battery ratings work. Which of the two batteries would you expect to out perform.

Which battery has more power, which one would run longer before needing a charge.  

The DeWalt has almost twice the voltage but feels like it has less power. It's more comfortable and has better features but reminds me of, lets just say, not a mans drill.

Maybe if the DeWalt had the DC180 Lion in stead of the DC181 it would have more growl. Again the differences between the two;

DeWalt                       Makita

18V 1.1Ah                  9.6V 1.3Ah  

0-500 0-1700              0-400 0-1100