Is Dewalt's new 20V line just the 18V overhyped? Need Advice ASAP pls

DewaltNoob

So a buddy of mine is offering me a great deal on this http://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-DCK290L2-20-Volt-Li-Ion-Hammer/dp/B0052MIJN6  because he bought one then lost the receipt and then his wife bought one for him and lost the receipt.

My question is, do i wait for the next evolution of dewalt tools because i have heard that the 20V is just the Dewalt Marketing department overhyping the 18V?

Noob here to all things tools and home improvement so more info is better but please keep it clear cut

The 20 v max tools is Dewalts new tool range. Sure, some of them have a lot of common with the older line of tools but many of them are new tools. For example, the dcd785 drill/driver is like a all new product but the dcd985 drill/driver is more related to its predecessor.

Biggest difference is the way you insert the battery, the older line is a pod style battery and the new line is using slide battery. Also, the new line will for sure get more news and development regarding new tools and so on regardless what Dewalt say.

Now also new 4,0 A battery with fuelguage is comming to the new line and I really do not think that those battery will come to the old lone.

So basically, i ended up buying the drill, again, good buddy and good deal, still expensive, but worth every cent.

Talked to dewalt, they told me while the Battery is 20V, but what comes out of the chuck is 18V.  I then inquired as to with an 18V dewalt drill, what comes out of the chuck, in which case the rep didn't know because they don't have the specs.

The model i have doesn't have the batteries with fuel gages, they are just JUST bringing out that stuff now.  ALthough from what i have read, other companies have brought that stuff out already, so why Dewalt is following instead leading as usual i don't know