Toughsystem Snapped Side Handle

PlumbCareServs

Hi all

I'm fairly new to the Toughsystem, have got the trolley, a DS400 + DS300 and soon to have a 2-drawer unit.

Overall pretty impressed, however...

Was carrying the DS400 with a fairly full set of tools and one of the side handles snapped right off! On examination the small plastic hinges that hold it on had split open. My supplier has agreed to exchange under warranty which is great, but I wanted to ask: Are we not supposed to lift these boxes by those handles?!

From looking at the hinge assembly it is definitely doomed to failure if used with any sort of weight in there, so I wondered if they are only there for use with the stacking system (to lock the box in place)? For such a large and potentially heavy toolbox the small hinges on the side definitely don't look tough enough to me...

Thanks for any opinions in advance

Paul

PS: Some very impressively racked out vans/trucks on here guys  :o

I think that the official line from Dewalt, is that the Main Carrying Handle is in the Lids (or a second on the front of a 150).. I am unaware of any 'small print' stating this anywhere though.

The side handles are merely 'locking points' for the racking system, and only really to be used to lift/move the boxes from any racking system... wether that be in a van, workshop, or trolley..

I have loaded my boxes with a view to keeping them as light as possible making them easier to carry. And have a lockable vault in the van for most of my power tools that I feed from on a 'As and When' basis...

Thanks for the input guys. I have noted about the side handles - will just use them for storage in the future haha  :-[

Different topic: What sort of trestles are the guys using on here when they rack their vans out with Toughsystem brackets in the pictures ?

Thanks, Paul