How to remove electric brake in cordless drill?

Flexon

Hello, does anybody know if there’s a way of disabling the electric brake from a cordless drill?

I have a DeWalt 14,4v cordless hammerdrill - DC984 – and it would be really helpful for me if I could just remove the electric brake function. I’m a biologist and have to use it to do some mixtures and the electric brake makes the rotation flow unevenly.

I know I could just buy a cheaper drill that doesn’t have that function, but the overall performance on the DeWalt makes a lot of difference, and buying the specialized equipment for that would be too expensive.

Can anybody help?

I am not sure how you would, remove that.  It functions through the motor having a reverse current sent to the motor when you let off the trigger. I think it would be pretty complicated to reprogram that, but that is just my assumption.

You could always just go with a corded drill, as they typically do not have brakes.

Yes, your right Kjones, and thanks for the reply.

I could use a corded one, unfortunately they generally run at higher speeds. I am actually using a corded DW245 (low speed 0-600rpm triple reduction drill) but the DC984 (14,4v cordless hammerdrill) would be better because of the relation between speed/torque and the actual “type†of movement. The movement is something very subtle in practice, and I don’t know if I can precisely explain that.

About the modification I would like to do… there is a mechanical “recess†that is, the mandrill have a small free movement without traction. You can see that when it is off power. The mandrill rotates a little back and forward (don’t know how to explain either). It seams to me that, if I could fix it to the traction, giving it no “recessâ€, the mandrill always tied to the gears, my problem would be solved.

The recess is what, as seems to me, gives the necessary rotational impact to mechanically activate the electric brake in the trigger, when the drill suddenly stops.