Is brushless worth the extra cost?

ryan.s

Newbie here with my first post so please be gentle.

Just a little back ground, I'm not a professional in any way but more of a diyer and woodworker. I recently sold a bunch of my Bosch 12v tools, ps20, ps30, ps40 as well as my 18v makita drills and impacts (had multiples of both) with the notion of upgrading to brushless.

For replacing my 18v tools it was an easy decision, I settled on the 20v brushless compact Dewalt drill/impact kit mainly due to the compact size and the 2000 rpm of the drill. When it comes to the 12v tools I'm having a harder time deciding on what to get. I briefly considered moving over to Milwaukee fuel since most of the stuff I've read and seen online tells me Milwaukee seems to outperform other brands on both he 12v and 18v platforms. In the end I decided to stick with bosch because I still have a bunch of the other 12v tools plus I really like the compact size. So my question is, is the higher cost for the PS22, PS32 and PS42 (if they ever release it) worth it over the PS21, PS31 and PS41? I was initially gung-ho about going all brushless but there are some decent deals on the brushed versions plus I figured longevity of the brushed motors wouldn't be an issue since I'll likely upgrade again a few years down the road.

Would like to hear some opinions as well any comparisons you might have noticed between the different generations of the Bosch. I've added below my take on the bosch stuff I've used so far. Just some quick observations.

PS10 - Clutch is terrible, trigger has a consistent noticeable delay. Articulating head is nice. Overall not too happy with it but I hardly use it and keep it around for those times I need a right angle drill/driver for tight spaces. I noticed the newer PS11 now as a chuck which extends out quite a bit more than the PS10.

PS20 - Really like this tool. Still held on to one. Size is nice, torque is okay, only knock is it's single speed.