New To Tools & Would Like Some Help

idontknow312

Hello i found this site extremely helpful with all the info i need. I recently visited my local Home Depot store i found this Milwaukee 28v Kit that i really like. I have read the forum where Milwaukee was recently bought out from another company that makes other products that doesn't seem to be heavy duty. I was wondering would their product still be reliable? I am just a student still in high school so i was wondering if anyone on this forum has purchase the Milwaukee 28v kit and would like to share with me their info on how it performed. I would be delighted if you males/females can share with me your info on other tools also.

Hello.

I still buy Milwaukee tools even though I would personally rather buy American tools. From what I have hear and read is that they are going to keep the lines seprate. My only question is that now it is a China company, who really watches over these companies. Is this just going to end up another Porter Cable story back in the 60's. I guess for now I still buy Milwaukee, but I also look a little bit closer at Dewalt tools.

I think for now it is still ok to buy these tools becuase the buyout was about a year ago. It takes time to get stuff set up where they can interchange the parts and make it cheap. As b19 said, I would keep my eye open because I am not sure who watches over these guys in China,

Well i guess you are right. What i do know is that different parts of the tool is made in different plants. E.g. the handle could be made in china but the motor could be made in motor etc. All i know is that i would still go for the Milwaukee 28v kit.

FYI Do you think it is over price? My local HD is selling the Milwaukee 28v kit for $699.99.

I would go with the Milwaukee. Still a good company for now. Who knows down the road.