Small electrical trainers

acm0719

Here's what I've been doing today. I've researched how to do these and figured I'd give them a try. Let me know if you see anything wrong with it, I know I mixed 12 gauge and 14 gauge wire, but I worked with what I had. I started looking at how to do these because in a few weeks we will start doing this in school, once we finish roofing.68702e4f0ebde628051d42c35316c26f.jpgf147a4141ae8b9f816fee644ffbab266.jpgb8558a2e15dcd78ccb802d618e08cbb8.jpg2fb7f33dbdd007511ef763429bca6910.jpg4a68b100b537547019aee650b6b8fde9.jpgd547d47b1b84204ae32c6540268c036a.jpg

Yeah, I had yellow, but with the 14-12 gauge mix they were tight so I used the red, I don't need red for anything else so I just used them

I'm not an electrician, however from the start of our house rebuild room by room I have been installing all new electrical ( done by my brother, certified electrician) he says never skimp don't use what you have make sure you have the proper stuff not worth make shifting/jerry riggin....

Looks like you got the right idea. How old are you? what type of school are you in?

it is hard to follow some of the wires in the photos, but looks like they are all correct.

the 2nd photo- the outlets are wired Parallel ( i recommend this way) Series would mean you use 2 screws instead of a wire nut.

only change i would recommend  is use a 3 wire for the switch leg. This way you do not have to code the white black. abandon the white, you may need it in the future for an occupancy sensor.

on the 1/2 switch hot duplex did you break away the tab?

a couple pointer-

work on stripping the perfect amount of wire. be sure to never have any insulation under the screws. (yours look perfect in the photo)

make sure the wire goes on the right direction (yours are correct) i cant tell you how often i see people put the wire the opposite way the screw turns.

use quality wire nuts. ( i only buy the 3m with the rubber skirt)