4cyl. or V6 Truck

taylorv1

I am a intermediate woodworker. I looking to get my first truck. I have borrowed my neighbors truck in the past, but realize I need to get a truck. I mostly build furniture and basic cabinetry. I am trying to debate weather I should get a 4 cylinder or V6 truck. I want a access cab, and 4x2. I am looking at tacoma's, around 2009. Please help me decide.. Is a V6 necessary? Gas mileage is somewhat of a concern.

How about an inline 5 instead? Just throwing that out there instead of a truck, a diesel sprinter? You'll get better fuel economy with '04-'06 sprinter than a gas truck, as I've experienced.

However, since you asked, in my opinion a 4 cylinder in your situation would work best

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

You say you are looking at a Tacoma, if that is the case, I would say the 6cly. Over the 4. 159 vs 236 hp, 180 fpt vs 236. Gas mpg 20-26 vs 14-19 mpg. The truck is I think a little heavy for the 4cyl. I would go,with the 6cyl. But you will give up mpg. You will only notice if you drove 200-300 miles a day. If it's less then 100, then you will not save that much by going with the 4cyl. What can you afford is the bottom line. The 6 is going to cost you more to buy.

John, Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

ya I think 4cyl with heavy truck is kinda defeating the purpose as it is gonna work harder to move it where as the 6cyl won't I was always a over power is better than not enough power. as for gas mileage it also has a lot to do with how you drive, if you get accustom to the 4cyl you might start putting your foot in it more often to find the power it is lacking and there goes your mileage and more wear and tare on the truck so my opinion is go with the 6cyl.

Honestly if your in bussniess go with at least a f150 or comproable. Maybe even look at a cargo van. I would go bigger then that even.