Meat band saw

JimboS1ice

So most of you guys know I'm a butcher by trade, so I thought I'd throw a picture up of one of the iron ponies I work on. It is a Hobart bandsaw designs for cutting meat, this one has a what we call a bone in blade which is a 124" x 5/8 @ 3pti blades. For cutting boneless blades we can put a scalloped edge blade on it. Notice the scrapers on the bottom wheel that remove meat particles from the blade and the drive wheel itself.

4184ce0fd59e25c48336415b4d331c12.jpg

5a470ad8ad3de74521398140abf1ebde.jpg

c9cee38170fe5d65e6d608c509aab67d.jpg

00ee138a6c40a5fa12f042bebb2fc094.jpg

63ad8d0ba3fb5c469e4fd280c06a53a7.jpg

There are many variants throughout the company, biggest one I've worked on is a 142" saw.

Jimbo

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Like 8

That looks like a food safety inspector's dream, that whole area is very clean. Neat band saw, I haven't seen one in person, I've only really been in dry food and seafood processing plants so I've never seen that kind of equipment(though I knew it existed). Thanks for posting, it's a beauty of a machine.

• Like 1

That looks like a food safety inspector's dream, that whole area is very clean. Neat band saw, I haven't seen one in person, I've only really been in dry food and seafood processing plants so I've never seen that kind of equipment(though I knew it existed). Thanks for posting, it's a beauty of a machine.

Prior to the start of splattering blood everywhere, we have high sanitation standards as well, when I'm at a busier store where I cut a lot of bone in I'll throw a picture of what a really dirty saw can look like lol.

• Like 3

When I was younger we used butcher a few head of cattle and hogs a year. I was always too young to run the meat band saw. Probably a good idea though, seeing as how I am quite fond of my limbs! By the way, Meat Band Saw sounds like a good death metal band name!

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

• Like 3