Screw Gun Design Research

nicascott1

I am a product design student at Arizona State University and I am currently working on a research project for redesigning the Screw Gun. To ensure credibility throughout this project, I was hoping that frequent users of this tool could answer the following list of questions. When answering the questions please be as honest and detailed as possible. I am looking for your great insights to the use of the Screw Gun, to help me improve my design.

Thank you in advance for your help!

1) What makes a Screw Gun different from a traditional Drill?

2) Do you have any tricks or techniques that simplifies the use of the Screw Gun?

3) Do you have any specific problems or complaints about Screw Guns or how they work?

4) Have you ever made any modifications or thought of modifications to the Screw Gun that would make your job easier?

Well I can only speak from a drywall point of view as that is what I do. Screw guns are also used for roofing, decking, framing and more.

I use the Milwaukee screw gun. I think the model number is 6742. I love this drill. I use this because it is light about 4 lbs, so at the end of the day, my arm is not worn out. Also it has lots of power. I have used it to drive screws into metal studs and old timbers on historic houses. Either way I can mange the power and it is easy to set the screw depth.

To answer your questions.

1. A screw gun is different for a couple of different reasons. A screw gun is exactly that, it drives screws and that's all. A drill is used for a lot of different application such as drilling, screwing etc. The torque and speed is also different. A traditional drill is designed for multi purpose and therefore has different speed settings, plus clutch settings. I could go on and on, but I think you get the point.

2. I don't have any tricks I use. Once you set the depth, its pretty much brainless activity from their. The screw goes in the same depth each time.