Schematic for DCB 101 charger

blathim

Hello,

does anyone have or know where I can download a Schematic for the "DCB101" Charger?

I am an electronic Technician of 45 years newly retired to the Philippines and my dear Friend mistakenly plugged his 110 volt unit into the 220 volt ac here so the schematic would be helpful.

Thank you

Bob

• 3 months later...

The best place to start if you don’t have the schematic is to inspect the board. Have you taken the charger apart and checked out the board visually? Can you upload pics?

I know you’re an ET but I’ll outline a few troubleshooting tips for the non twidgets on the forum.

A battery charger can be a simple or complex device. The chemistry of the battery dictates the charge method and any number of regulating circuitry can be implemented. It is a difficult task troubleshooting a circuit with a schematic, almost impossible to troubleshoot a complex circuit with-out a schematic. However, with a few educated guesses all hope is not lost. You might get lucky and stumble upon the faulty component.

We know the failure condition, good news.. kind of.

Over-voltage conditions are bad, when 220v is applied to a circuit that was designed for 110v, often the unit is beyond repair. Even if the circuit has built in OV protection, +100v is most-likely out of spec for the protection to save the unit.

*I understand the charger may not have all the parts I describe, just trying to be complete. (And I guessing over here)

A few things to check, first the oblivious. We hear it all the time, unplug the unit and wait for a while and then plug it back in. This will give caps time to discharge any stored voltage and allow any thermal overloads to rest. Chances are this won’t work, but it doesn’t hurt to try.

Next is to try and locate any user resettable breakers/fuses. I don’t suspect the charger has any accessible fuses but again, it doesn’t hurt to check.