"Where Were You When the World Stopped Turning?"

fm2176

Given recent events, I feel that this thread is especially relevant.  An entire generation of Americans (and the citizens of our allied nations) was affected by the events of 9/11, and the fall of Afghanistan will probably go down in history as an example of failed American intervention not unlike the fall of South Vietnam.  I'll finally be going home next year, after twenty-plus years of military service.  My home is no longer where I grew up, but rather a place the Army stationed me, a place where I recruited young men and women while the war in Iraq drew to a close and Afghanistan flared up.  

Twenty years ago I was a young road technician working for a material handling equipment company.  On September 10th I was suddenly let go, and on the 11th I was job-seeking online when I saw some comments about the towers.  I turned around and my mother-in-law was watching the news show video footage of the event.  Nevertheless, I continued my job search, though I did check in on a few old friends to discuss the attacks.  A little over a month later I was signing my Army contract, fulfilling a dream I'd had since I was a kid...a dream previously hindered by past mistakes.

In the intervening 20 years, I've lost a lot of friends, both military and civilian.  My unit and I invaded Iraq together and saw the side of war I always wanted to see.  Ten years later, my unit went to Afghanistan, where they placed me as an Operations NCO (semi)safely behind the wire.  One tour of each, with little personal investment in either country.  The War in Iraq became something foreign to the war I fought, while my experience in Afghanistan was watching the war on TV and occasionally getting rocketed.