DCD785C2 20V MAX* Lithium Ion Compact Hammerdril smoking...

chakra777

Bought the drill back in Feb 2012 through home depot online and been using it pretty hard since then. I added the 3 ah batter since there was the option for durability. I am a furniture installer, every once in a while we came across very tight screws in metal. Today we were working with a metal piece that was poorly manufactured, so the screws where crosstighning (entre roscando). There was this one screw I could get half way in, but could not leave it like that so I wanted to take it out. It got stuck. Since it was turning only at the beginning of the trigger touch, I started pressing and releasing, pressing and releasing. Was turning slowly but then a little smoke started to show so I stopped the drill immediately, but still white smoke kept coming out of it. On the spot I was told to remove the battery so I did and blew all the smoke out to cool down the drill.

I let the drill sit for about 2 hrs, then tried it. Of course I down graded the battery to the 1.5 ah. It seems to be working fine... but I lost my trust on the drill. One of the guys at work said once he had a drill that smoked like that once, then after a few months it was through. I work in a Makita environment and until now I was very proud of my Dewalt.  I was thinking on selling it while it still runs and get a Makita... I just don't know what to do. Tomorrow I have to go to work and will have to use it again... I don't know how damaged is my gun :-\

I´m not a fan of impacts but in case like this a impact drill is better. It seems to me that you should have both a impact drill and this normal dcd785 drill. The dcd 785 you use for drilling and smal to medium size screws. The impact you use for big screws ,lags and bad screws like the one you described.