Marking your tools

george frontino

When I worked in a shop with a bunch of others I marked my tools but in the most secret way I could so if they took them they didn't know where or how so they could remove it or tamper with the marking. i know my dad did it differently by laying 10 or 12 brand new grinders/cirular saws hammers or what ever he bought for his company and sprayed green spray paint across them. I remember doing this once with brand new tools as a kid for him.....

• Like 1

I may need to rethink my tool marking strategy. I like your method.

Most work I do alone or with close buddies or a family member so I know where to find them if my tool doesn't make it home, but we have respect for our own things, I was taught that from a very young age, especially if you borrow something bring it back in better condition!

Jimbo

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

• Like 2

Most work I do alone or with close buddies or a family member so I know where to find them if my tool doesn't make it home, but we have respect for our own things, I was taught that from a very young age, especially if you borrow something bring it back in better condition!

Jimbo

My main concern is my dad trying to take my cool new tools but i know where he sleeps. I just need to listen down the hallway for a bear and a chainsaw. (He snores)

A happy life is one that involves tools as often as possible

www.frontinoconstruction.com

• Like 1

Jimbo

I mark mine either for dishonest mix ups ( so I can prove that those tools that the guy pulled out of my car an put in his truck are mine) or mostly for honest mistakes. Like if me and my coworker leave our Swanson speed squares on the same table I know to grab the one with my name on it.
  • Like 1

record all your serial numbers. people can have the same initials so it is added security. also helps with stolen an pawned tools. pawn stores give records to police weekly with serial numbers of things pawned weekly.