M18 Fuel impacts

Bremon

Long time reader and first time poster, I'm looking to get an impact wrench and am specifically looking at the 2763 and the 2654. From what I can see, the 2654 doesn't have as many pros to it. I would use it for general automotive and general construction use, but overall I just want it to be able to handle anything I throw at it. I work in construction, not automotive. It seems to me the only thing the 2654 has going for it is its size (I do love the size of my 2653). For the small increase in price of a kit, is the 2763 the right direction for most to go in, or is it specifically for heavy duty use? The main thing I'm asking is which tool has more widespread use (I understand that since they are both impact wrenches they have a large amount of overlap in scopes of work). The girlfriend will kill me if I buy one and end up deciding I also need the other haha.

I have both, the 2654 is great for most jobs, but the 2763 is the work horse, but is heavier but it will get the work done. My buddy is still using a corded Milwaukee 1/2" impact and while installing Draft Horse Stall at the local fair, all he could complain abot was his extension cord.

You do need both!

i think that the big impact wrench should be purchased for specific activities in mind. automotive, tilt-panel work etc. I would never own the big one without owning the compact version as well, because using the big one on small threads is bound for trouble.

having said that a little adapter on your impact driver can play this part too, which makes a lot of financial sense.

• Like 1

I have both. Not a pro wrench, just servicing my own stuff. Even including my fullsize trucks, I use the 3/8" Compact probably 90% of the time. The High Torque has awesome power, but it is large and heavy, and awkward to use in many areas, sometimes impossible. I'd definitely go with the Compact first.