Engraving tool

stainlessstroker95

If you use the right tips the Dremel will work perfectly. I use a Dremel with a flex shaft for engraving, and I've used it to engrave a lot of stuff. Bowling balls, Maglites, wallets, etc.. Using a flex shaft makes it a lot easier too because it's like holding a pencil. A vibrating, spinning really fast, cut you if your not careful, pencil, but still. Of course it helps to have a little artistic skill for what I do, I used to be a professional artist so this type of stuff comes natural to me. However, I'd always suggest a Dremel and flex shaft, mainly because it's easy to use and easy to hold. Some examples of what a Dremel can do (obviously you're not going to do this to your tools, and I might be showing off just a little bit, but...)...

7468144974_b4b0db2ee2_b.jpg

June 29 008 by Edward Durbin, on Flickr

7468145796_ebc77e4de2_b.jpg

June 29 005 by Edward Durbin, on Flickr

8207504864_a6eea1c6ba_b.jpg

Justice01 by Edward Durbin, on Flickr

12043350324_8e2a741e40_b.jpg

]Maglite  001 by Edward Durbin, on Flickr

• Like 3

nice stuff Kato, I do the same for many years with acrylic and wood some times your right it is easy with the right bits and learning the direction and pressures....

• Like 1

Sterco, is that a vibrating type engraver? That's the only type I've ever used, I am wondering because when I think Dremel, i think rotary tool

Yeah it's a vibrating type. I like it a lot better than the rotary tool and it's about a quarter the price. Easier for me to write neatly. Probably a matter of personal preference.

I don't mark my tools but I think if I did I'd go with stamps/punch just because you don't need to be able to draw or have good handwriting for it to look good. http://www.amazon.com/TEKTON-6611-16-Inch-Letter-36-Piece/dp/B0037USPUM