M18 Fuel Hole Hawg Vs. Super Hole Hawg

tpamatmat

So I am ready to pull the trigger on one of these two. I thought of buying one for my wife on Valentines Day, but I have already spent enough nights sleeping on the couch. The "think twice, talk once" strategy has avoided many restless nights :)

Being a remodel contractor, I do both electrical and plumbing. Thing is though I no longer use self-feeds over 1 1/2", with tungsten carbide tipped hole saws for any hole larger in diameter. I know Milwaukee recommends their Hole Hawg for electricians and their Super Hole Hawg for plumbers, but due to my workflow I am thinking I can get away with the standard Hawg. Its just so much more compact and easy to carry around. Just don't want to replace my two ton corded Hole Hawg with a two ton cordless one. What I really wish is that they offered the standard Hawg with a two speed gearing option. Marketing is marketing though and I don't think that will ever happen. Any of you guys in the same boat? Which way did you go?

• Like 1

As far as I know the two speed gearbox seems to be the only reason the Super is so much bigger to begin with. Someone on this board mentioned a HD9.0 really wakes the single speed Hole Hawg up, I think you'll be fine with the little one. Big one is too damn long to store nicely imo but it's nice to have kickback protection. 

• Like 1

1 hour ago, JimboS1ice said:

Super hawg has kick back protection in it, how much can the hawg do that a 2704 can't?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

If I was to guess I would say practically nothing. It's 1200rpm single speed is likely in between the 2704s two gears torque-wise with an emphasis on spinning 7/8" augers or thereabouts. 

4 hours ago, tpamatmat said:

So I am ready to pull the trigger on one of these two. I thought of buying one for my wife on Valentines Day, but I have already spent enough nights sleeping on the couch. The "think twice, talk once" strategy has avoided many restless nights :)