The Best Advice for New Mechanics? Avoid the Tool Trucks!

fm2176

Recently, my daughter's (ex?) boyfriend took an entry level position as a mechanic.  With no experience and few tools, he's likely not bringing home top pay. Like many new techs, he got roped into a Snap-On account, and shortly after starting he spent $8000 on a shiny new Snap-On toolbox.  Now, I have no right to criticize the way he spends his money, but the guy is approaching thirty and pays child support, so being new to the trade and having obligations makes it a bit irresponsible to finance a multi-thousand dollar tool storage product.

I was a mechanic from roughly 1998-2001, sometimes working multiple jobs.  Started with trailers, moved on to Cadillacs, then to material handling equipment, where I also worked part-time for a large tire and service chain.  Tool trucks came by weekly, though I was a road tech at the forklift dealership so I rarely crossed paths with them.  I racked up a fair amount of debt, owing as much as $700 at some points to the tool guys, with my Snap-On and Matco accounts getting as high as $500.  My starting pay working on $50,000 Cadillacs was $6.50/hr. and by the time I left the forklift dealership I was making a whopping $12/hr.  I made do with an ancient 3-piece Mac single bank stack and eventually a Craftsman 2-piece stack alongside it.  The truck tools I bought were mostly trade-ins or specialty tools I couldn't get anywhere else.  Most of the rest of the shop had their brightly colored Snap-On and Matco boxes; my work bay reflected my low pay and lack of experience.  Later, when I worked out of the back of a service truck, I was glad I didn't have something shiny and new.  A week in the truck would have had any tool box looking the worse for wear, and the tank-like Mac mid and top box I kept in it held up fine, albeit with a little welding being needed after a few months.