Bosch IDH182-02L - Week one

Peter Argyropoulos

I'm an electrician, so the way I use my impact driver is different from the way a contractor or deck guy would use theirs. I have different needs and expectations, so this review may not be helpful if you need a tool for driving hundreds of screws in a day. You've been warned :)

I agonized over what to get to replace my aging - and failing - Hilti 14.4V impact driver. I use my impact driver for everything from drilling joists through the cutouts I make for recessed lights (it's better than a drill for that) through lags and all the way down to 6-32 device screws into both metal and plastic boxes or even #4x3/8-inch wood screws for undercabinet lights. I tried a Makita that came in the XT257M combo kit and wasn't impressed at all. I considered other Makitas, some of which have a great reputation, but nobody local stocks them, and I hate buying a tool in the dark and honestly, even the highest end, made-in-Japan impact looks cheezy with that plastic shroud on the front. I also considered a Milwaukee, but wasn't too happy about committing myself to another kit after my experience with the Makita. Ultimately, I went for the Bosch.

One thing I knew for certain after my experience with the kit impact from Makita was that I definitely needed the new impact to have a similar torque control like what I was used to on the Hilti. You can't go from drilling joists to installing a $100 dollar dimmer switch unless you can change the torque or you're going to do damage. I also knew I wanted a hard case similar in size to a Stanley parts bin since I stack them together in my truck. The kit cases I saw were too big for this and I was constantly struggling to find a place for the Makita kit case for the two months I had it.

From reviews and a dead tool hands on at Lowes (none of the three stores I visited had charged batteries in the Bosch tools), I ended up going for the Bosch.