SDS Plus Bits

slopjock78

So I finally got a new DCH273 ordered, and need some bits for it.  What are peoples recommendations for SDS Plus bits, both for drilling as well as hammering?  I am not going to really need large quantities of any one bit, and would be open to an assortment set of bits.  I have limited concrete drilling experience, so i do not currently really have a "go to" brand for concrete work.  Any brands to stay away from?  My first use will be for 3/16" tapcons, as well as drilling a 1" hole through a 8" concrete foundation wall.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.  Thanks all

We have some Bosch and some DeWalt.  All work great.  Bosch come in 5 packs, for the smaller bits.  Since those are the ones that break most, I buy the 5 packs.  They last pretty good, depending on who is drilling the hole.

Are you using 3/16" tapcons?  Or drilling a 3/16" hole for 1/4" tapcons.  Either way, it makes a difference on what hole you drill.

We use 1/4" tapcons, but we drill a 3/16" hole.  Tapcon wants you to drill a 5/32" hole.  That may be technically the right thing to do, but it doesn't work out for us.  The hole is just a little small.

We use the 3/16" hole and then use an impact driver to run the tapcons in.  Works great.

Get yourself a chisel bit.  We usually just need the 1 1/2" ones.  We have a smaller one, but rarely use it.  You will find so many things to use it for.

2 days ago, we removed a huge chunk of brick wall.  All we needed was the DeWalt sds and a chisel bit.  And one extra battery.  One battery that didn't have a full charge and then a new one finished it off.

Hilti, then Bosch.

I have DeWalt, Milwaukee, Hilti and Bosch in my van right now. The DeWalt are terrible, but super cheap. The Milwaukee are more expensive and a hair better.
Bosch makes great bits, but for the same price you can Hilti. The Hilti will out cut and out last the others.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk