Hey Milwaukee - how about a compact M12 charger / power source?!

Brewer

Hi everyone, just got inspired to join up and comment as Milwaukee finally answered one of my oldest prayers - now to work on the other one ;0)

Punchline first: what would be AWESOME would be a USB power source that doubled as a compact 'travel' charger, just by plugging in a wall adaptor or cigarette lighter lead.

Now background: I'm on the tools by trade but I'm also a farmer, camper and volunteer emergency responder. I was watching the M12 system for a couple of years before I bought in, and I've now got a small fleet of M12 tools and batteries.

One thing I have wanted since the start was a decent M12 LED flashlight with an on-board charge level indicator. Bolting out of the door to deal with something is that much simpler if you can quickly confirm that your flashlight has a couple of hours in it and If not, grab an extra pack and swap it over in seconds, no disassembly required. I never understood how high-end flashlights were so popular with their fiddly battery swaps or limited runtime between placing the whole tool on charge. So finally my wish was answered with the new aluminium light.

Now when I'm suddenly called away I'll grab a couple of charged compact M12 batteries, the USB power source as backup for my phone (better than any proprietary 'power bank' system) and the new LED light - but the charger is seriously bulky. Not too much of a problem on a building site, but if you are getting on a plane (or into a fully-crewed truck) luggage needs to be tight and it's too tempting to leave it behind and hope that it won't be needed. A small plug pack and lead would be much more packable, even if it takes all night to charge a single battery it would keep me in business over a multi-day operation.

Are you listening Milwaukee product devs?! :P

• Like 3