Home shop.

SetBuilder

My home shop...  My main home shop is set up under a carport as my garage is very small, so its mainly used for storage.  When I was looking to buy a table saw I got pretty lucky. A local dealer had a brand new in the box Jet, buried at the back of his storage since 2007. He sold it to me for 1700.00 in 2014. I think it was a pretty good deal.

I scored on the big miter saw rack. I found it listed on CL for 500, but it was listed weird as it just said "Big saw rack" . I offered him 350 and he came back with 400. I showed up the next day with a trailer and he had his guys bringing it out with the Dewalt saw on it. I thought I was only buying the rack. I wasn't concerned about the saw as I already had a 12in Dewalt slider on a mobile base. There is a 6in powermatic jointer and bench dog router table covered in there somewhere.  Then I have a lot of stuff in my box at work as I work in a shop.

IMG_4203.JPG

IMG_4204.JPG

IMG_0065.JPG

IMG_0062.JPG

• Like 4

8 hours ago, Jronman said:

nice shop. How does the wood fair when being in the carport? does it keep well? Looks like you did a good job at enclosing the carport.

The previous owner built the car port and had his shop under there.  I'm in Los Angeles so we don't get too much rain. Mainly only in Dec and Jan, the sun is out the next day and everything dries out.  Otherwise its very dry here storing wood is not an issue. In the top pic there is sheet of 1in MDF under the tarp on the work bench and it has never swelled. 

The squared wood was for fence panels. I put the sections together with all dowels.

IMG_2854.JPG

IMG_2856-1.JPG

IMG_2909.JPG

IMG_2935-1.JPG

That looks amazing. Goes to show, a fancy shop doesn't make a good builder. Nice use of the space you have.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  • Like 1

6 minutes ago, tcoscarelli said:

That looks amazing. Goes to show, a fancy shop doesn't make a good builder. Nice use of the space you have.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk