Klein MM700 Multimeter Mini Review

HiltiWpg

Good Day!
I wanted to share my experience with the Klein MM700 CatIV 600V/ CatIII 1000V Multimeter. I am an electrician and I have a soft spot for multimeters. I have owned way too many of them!
I picked up the Klein MM700 for $140 Canadian including Shipping. The price was too temping to pass up.
Included in the packaging was the following:
- MM700 Multimeter
- K-type thermocouple
- Thermocouple adaptor
- Test Leads
- Probe covers
- Alligator Clips
- Soft case
- 2x AAA batteries
Right away, the meter feels great in the hand. The over-molding is very grippy and reminiscent of a Fluke. The meter isn't very heavy either. One great feature I liked is that the fuses are located in the battery compartment. I am not a fan of tearing apart a meter to change a fuse. The kickstand allows for a great viewing angle and is integrated into the battery cover.
Once I got this meter powered up, the next feature I really liked was the selector switch. Nice firm clicks lock the dial in place. Feels very premium, almost as nice as the Flukes.
The leads are what you would expect with an inexpensive meter. Soft, but not a premium silicon lead.
The display is very nice. Simple and easy enough to read. The viewing angles aren't great though. From below to centre, perfect legibility, but when looking down from the top, it's harder to see. With the backlight on, it's almost impossible to read from the top-down.
The speed of the reading is pretty good too, considering the cost, accuracy is also good.
It is a true RMS meter and offers Lo-Z which is a must if you need to weed-out ghost voltages. I did a side-by-side comparison with my Fluke 17B+. While the Fluke is faster and more accurate, the Klein did a great job.
It would have been nice to see 3 decimal places for low voltage, but it is an inexpensive meter.
The MM700 Tough Meter also claims to be IP42. This should protect it from dirt and water drops.